Prayer, Forgiveness and the True Essence of Revival…

It has been a while since I have had the time to write a blog and may be some time before I have the time to write a proper one as I am in my busiest time of the year and at the moment serving the Lord in Eastern Europe. In the coming weeks though I will be writing a proper blog sharing some of the amazing things Jesus has done here…including taking a team of young adults from the States to serve alongside of meImage here in the Republic of Moldova. For two weeks we shared the Gospel with the amazing people that Jesus died to save there so be on the lookout for that blog.

In the meantime, I just wanted to take a few minutes and share a few things that the Lord has spoke to me through recently. They are two poems and one part of a Psalm (which is also poetry).

The first poem is on prayer in battle from the book entitled: “Guerillas of Grace” by Ted Loder

“How shall I pray?
Are tears prayers, Lord?
Are screams prayers, or groans or sighs, or curses?
Can trembling hands be lifted to you, or clenched fists or the cold sweat that trickles down my back or the cramps that know my stomach?

Will you accept my prayers, Lord, my real prayers,
rooted in the muck and the mud of my life
and not just the pretty, cut-flower,
gracefully arranged bouquet of words?

Will you accept me, Lord as I really am,
messed up mixture of glory and grime?”

The second one is a poem from the Great Awakening. I believe it is so appropriate to read, reflect on and consider in a time where so many seem to chase “miracles” and manufacture “revivals” that are often more rooted in euphoric emotion rather than a genuine move of God where those dead in sin are truly revived, regenerated and reconciled to Him. It speaks of the true essence of revival and how it first begins in one person personally and then from there expands to others around that individual who are willing and whom God awakens. It is entitled: “Awaken” and was penned by Lawrence Tribble.

“One man awake,
Awakens another.
The second awakens
His next door brother.
The three awake can rouse a town
By turning the whole place Upside down

Many awake can cause such a fuss
it finally awakens the rest of us.
One man up, with dawn in his eyes
surely then it multiplies”

The last but by in no way the least, is from the Psalm 32 and is on the joy of forgiveness that David expresses so eloquently and truthfully. As a man who came from great sin, and who tries to fight the good fight with the Spirit in me every day, I have been really relating with this text and it has been resonating deeply in the core of my being in recent days…

How joyful is the one
whose transgression is forgiven,
whose sin is covered!
How joyful is the man
the Lord does not charge with sin
and in whose spirit is no deceit!Image

When I kept silent, my bones became
brittle from my groaning all day long.
For day and night Your hand was heavy on me; my strength was drained
as in the summer’s heat. Selah

Then I acknowledged my sin to You
and did not conceal my iniquity.
I said, I will confess my transgressions to the Lord,” and You took away the guilt of my sin. Selah

Therefore let everyone who is faithful pray to You
at a time that You may be found.” ~ Psalm 32:1-6a (HCSB)

May these speak to you as they have been speaking to me… Bless you!

2 thoughts on “Prayer, Forgiveness and the True Essence of Revival…

Leave a Reply

