Different Songs for a Different Season…

In the past the day after Thanksgiving would have ushered in a weekend of me making the intentional effort to ignite my Christmas spirit and stir up the emotions that so many of us have, at least at some point in our lives and in some way or another, experienced. This would of course involve me pulling out my favorite Christmas album and listening to those songs that just seem to speak like no others leading up to Christmas.

But for me I am in a very different season in my personal life, and following the traditions of cliche and intention would not only be completely artificial but also not really have the desired effect those songs have had in past years. It would be a completely empty exercise to say the least.

Music has been very much something that I have been drawn to in this time and season that I am going through, and while I know many who may take the time to read this blog or read these thoughts I am opening to the world, may indeed only want to hear those Christmas tunes or holiday songs that they love this time of year, I feel compelled to share the songs I keep finding myself returning to during this season of my life. I feel compelled not just because I think they are good songs by great musicians that can speak into the very emotions of one’s humanity, but also because I am also aware that there may be others in different seasons too who may need something a bit more eclectic and nontraditional to the season that is upon us.

So I hope you find these songs, even the ones that may surprise you to see them here, might be something that sings to you…

I tend to listen to this one during my greatest times of mental exhaustion combined with discouragement… This Ethiopian Jazz truly takes me to another place. If it is not too weird for you maybe it will do something similar for you…

For worship songs and a song that truly helps me rest in Jesus, His Grace, and His Love there is not another song that has been resonating more with me than Laura Hackett’s: “When I am Afraid.” It is a song that the Lord has used to draw me to Himself…

I know that many who don’t understand my connection to Eastern Europe and my past love for the piano will not understand the emotions stirred in me from listening to Rachmaninoff’s Prelude in g minor Op. 23 #5 but even if you don’t this is truly a remarkable piece of music and at the least should be appreciated…

Many people may be shocked that this song is on here and ma even pass some judgment on me for it, but this song’s lyrics are very pertinent to my life in this exact moment…so if you want are curious to know…the answer is no I don’t listen to this song or Metallica on any type of regular basis but I have found myself thinking of the lyrics to the chorus of this song especially lately… If you cannot understand why and don’t want to talk to me about it then I will apologize in advance to you, but I had to share what I was feeling…

I know I posted this one on a blog a few weeks ago but I still find myself listening to it… You can see the full explanation in my blog post “Just the right song on a rainy day” https://michaelfosterblog.wordpress.com/2012/11/11/just-the-right-song-on-a-rainy-day/ The song however will be indeed included here as well to listen to.

A song (or musical poem) that I find deep encouragement in when I know I must press in and press on in the Lord regardless of how I am feeling. God doesn’t hold me accountable on how I feel but He does hold me accountable for my actions and my actions, only through His Grace, need to be glorifying to Him regardless of how I am feeling…on the good days…and the bad ones…

Blessings and shalom to you all through this Christmas season and in and through every season!

2 thoughts on “Different Songs for a Different Season…

Leave a Reply

